Dendroboard banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
58 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi all:
I am in the planning stages of a background of a 60 gallon corner tank (paludarium/swamp tank). The corner of the tank (center) has an overflow. I plan on doing a GS background on the tank sides and am thinking of using zoo med cork tile to cover the overflow. I have never used this before and have a few questions. Is it easy to cut? Can it bend? Does it look natural? I am trying to make this overflow look like a tree trunk? Let me know what you think? Thanks in advance for your help.

·
Registered
586 Posts
Cork tile is actually pretty ridged and won't bend to the profile of the overflow very well. I suggest you use virgin cork bark and silicone that onto the overflow. There are many pieces that do have a similar curve and it would look nicer and be easier. If you can't find any large pieces, use chunks and align them so that the bark patterns are all verticle. You can silicone or Great Stuff it secure.

·
Registered
58 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Thank you Weene. Where do you purchase "virgin cork bark?" I have seen cork tile and cork bark but never virgin cork bark.

·
Registered
1,147 Posts
Cork tile is actually pretty ridged and won't bend to the profile of the overflow very well. I suggest you use virgin cork bark and silicone that onto the overflow. There are many pieces that do have a similar curve and it would look nicer and be easier. If you can't find any large pieces, use chunks and align them so that the bark patterns are all verticle. You can silicone or Great Stuff it secure.
thank you i see too many cork bark back grounds going the wrong way :mad:

·
Registered
58 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
Happyfrogger....how difficult is it to remove any overflow? How do you go about doing that? Thank you!

·
Registered
123 Posts