Dendroboard banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
37 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello,
First time posting here and im new to making dart vivs so please forgive my inexperience.

My Setup:
Exo Terra 12 X 12 X 18
Advanced Mist King Setup
Hydroton/ABG MIX/Live Moss/Live Oak Leaf Litter (from ne herp and joshs frogs)
Some Cork rounds for hiding
Bunch of broms from ne herp, some korean rock fern, maiden hair fern, and a ton of Air Plants i found at a tropical plants store in NYC (uploaded a pic of my plants waiting for my viv to finish they are all flowering now. Pic is a couple weeks old).

I used the silicone and great stuff (window and door the green bottle) technique but had some trouble covering all of the great stuff and in some places along the bottom of the background there are some exposed pieces of the great stuff. Would it be ok for me to go ahead and build the viv without going back with more silicone? If i go back I will need a lot of silicone which will probably take forever to cure. I already have had to wait almost a week for the work i already did to cure to the point where there is absolutely no acetic acid smell. I was able to patch the visible pieces with a glue gun (is this ok?) so I'm not worried about looks(it actually looks great) but I am more concerned that the great stuff will be toxic if it is exposed. I have a mist king system and no water features so it won't be sopping wet but will be getting misted a couple times a day.