Dendroboard banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
3,986 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I've never done a frog loan before, and I realize the risks associated with it. However, what type of rules do you set for a loan? I'm just getting ideas.

·
Registered
3,029 Posts
My philosophy is this: don't ever get a frog you don't have cash in hand to pay for. I've considered a loan for frogs before, but I've never come across a circumstance when I felt the pros outweighed the cons....

·
Registered
6,110 Posts
Here's some of the criteria I use when I loan out animals:

1. Only loan out animals to people you know and trust. If you wouldn't feel right letting them watch your kids, they don't get the animals!
2. Talk about worst-case scenarios ahead of time, and agree to a resolution if the worst happens - before the animals leave your hands.
3. Agree on what will happen to any potential offspring.
4. Make sure the person actually has the experience necessary to have success with the animals in question.
5. Talk about scheduling some kind of regular contact with the person. I've heard of a lot of cases where someone loans animals out, doesn't hear anything for months, then can't get a hold of the person when they need to. Exchange email addresses, physical addresses, and phone numbers.
6. Agree to a time limit on the loan.
7. Make sure the person understands that it is a loan, and you are not giving them the animal. It is still your property!

·
Registered
19,318 Posts
The above posts have it pretty well spelled out.