Dendroboard banner
1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
74 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have checked over other threads of this nature and i havent quite gotten this question completely answered or i have heard mixed reviews and emotions on the topic. I am not a newbie when it comes to having amphibians, but i am new to Dart Frogs so i take caution, do the research and ask questions for more experienced keepers.

I have the general idea for my tank and how i want to build it. The tank is a zoomed 18x18x24. I have not yet purchased said tank because i am still in debate whether it is the best "style" and size in comparison to what i could get that is different. So far this is what i am leaning towards the most.

My question though naturally is what frog? I am looking for a frog that does well in groups but can also have plenty of space in this size tank. I believe in comparison to gallons it is approx. 36? So far i have read about auratus, leucs and vents (thumbnails).

Some people say newbies should stray away from thumbs as a first dart frog but others say some experience and a little trial and error should be fine for keeping them. I originally wanted the auratus but i keep getting opposite opinions on them being in a group and leucs as well.

My goal was to have maybe 3 or 4 frogs because of the 1 for 10gal rule (which i heard could also be 1 for 5) but i want to make sure they all have plenty of space.

Please any suggestions or ideas are greatly appreciated.

Thanks,
Wayne

·
Registered
74 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·
Auroteania are great community frogs. A group of 5 could be easliy kepy in a standard 20 gallon
Do you know right off how who breeds these currently? I noticed JoshsFrogs doesnt have them listed as a choice but not instock. So im not sure if he even has them breeding. Just wondering. They do look good. I am building a tank in coop. with my boss. We are both working on a tank at the same time. He is looking at the bumblebee leucs.

Thanks,