Dendroboard banner
1 - 20 of 30 Posts

·
Registered
127 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
This is my first time buying a clay culture. I plan to let them grow for a bit since there's not that many. When I got the culture about a week ago, the clay was not cracked. But now it is and there's lots of condensation on the lid. Is this what's supposed to happen? Do I need to add any water?

I added a tiny bit of springtail food (the powder sprinkled in the corner. Not knowing if the clay is food, or if I have to feed them. Figured it couldn't hurt.

Is there anything else I need to do? Add water? Leave it alone? Do I need to feed or is the clay their food?
Liquid Tableware Drinkware Ice cube Ingredient

·
Registered
138 Posts
Thats probably a lot of food since I don't really see any springtails, I would remove some. You should mist the clay(not soaked just moist). It does seem springtails will consume some clay in the right circumstances but you will need to need to supplement food. Active yeast, fish food, mushrooms, among others are good items to feed.

·
Registered
848 Posts
Mist every 2 weeks or so, cracks indicate it is drying out a bit too much.

·
Registered
127 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Where did you get the culture from? If you don't mind me asking.
This came from Houston frogs. It's intended to be my starter culture that I'll begin seeding other clay cultures with. But I'm learning that I'm still learning 😂😂😂

·
Registered
763 Posts
This came from Houston frogs. It's intended to be my starter culture that I'll begin seeding other clay cultures with. But I'm learning that I'm still learning 😂😂😂
This is not vendor feedback:

I would not buy cultures from them again. When you purchase a culture, especially a clay culture, they should be booming. Loss during shipment with charcoal cultures is pretty common but clay cultures ship well. There is at least one hobbyist selling great clay cultures.

·
Registered
763 Posts