Dendroboard banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
124 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
hey guys. so i just finished with the construction part of my first viv, a 29gal tank. now just getting ready to order some plants. i managed to build a light fixture out of emt conduit for an exoterra hood. the compacthood floats above the tank around 6 inches and im currently using 3 14 watt cfls. Do yall think my light setup would be fine for such plants as terrarium moss and bromiliads. if not do yall think i should use a higher watt bulb such as a 19 watt cfl?

Thanks

·
Registered
1,255 Posts
I'm using two 24W (or 27W? I can't remember now) 65k CFLs on my 29 gallon viv and have been getting good growth for the few weeks I've been using them. They're attached to a DIY hood that's really just a rain gutter and I haven't had any heat issues. I'm NOT an expert but I would think that what you have is enough light to at least keep stuff alive. If you're able to add more light then it would probably help.
What color are your bulbs? From what I understand 65k is ideal.

·
Registered
177 Posts
That's correct, the wattage is not all that important assuming you are meeting temperature requirements and light is making it to the bottom of the viv.

You will want something in the 5000k-6500K range for good plant growth.
I have a 6500K 23W CFL (more to add heat during these cold winter months) and a 13W LED from LYR (love the output of this thing) and I am very happy with my growth.

·
Registered
1,078 Posts
For single tanks, I think LEDs are the best. It can be costly at first but in the long run they work the best. No heat issues, and you can put them so close to the top to get maximum penetration. :eek:
You can also build easy custom hoods to fit in odd situations.
6500k is the best color regardless of which bulb u use. Cfl "leak" light and dont focus all those lumens into the tank. In the summer you might get issues with heat so keep that in mind.