Dendroboard banner
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
369 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So I'm thinking about switching over to a new kind of light and get away from the 3000-4000k color...I miss the blue/whites....I'm weird....so I found these. Has anyone used some of those recessed led light things? They're suuuuper cheap and look like they'd be pretty easy to hookup. However, these are made to be hardwired into my breaker box...is there a way to wire these to work with an outlet? I'm not an electrician but if I have instructions I'd be down to try it.... thoughts?
Wood Font Line Wall Material property

·
Registered
73 Posts
Easy enough to wire up. After looking at the directions for installation I see they each have their on own LED driver with color selector switch. I doubt the driver will run multiple lights so will need to use them all. I would wire to a light switch then to plug. At 15 watts each nothing really to worry about running to single plug. 75 watts for 5 lights so pushing low amp.

Light Product Font Line Automotive lighting

·
Registered
369 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
So but a switch do you mean just a normal light switch? What is the purpose of hooking the lights to a switch before the plug? And is there a certain plug I should use? I just looked...all I have is romex. Working with solid copper may be a bit tough. How about this?

·
Registered
430 Posts
So but a switch do you mean just a normal light switch?
I wouldn't bother with a switch. Just wire a plug end on it and plug it into a timer. I throw away the wire nuts that come in the box. Ideal beige wire nuts are the best for that size wire. Just strip a little bit more on the wires in the light. It makes them much easier to hook up and have them stay connected.

I have wired a lot of houses.

·
Registered
369 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·