Dendroboard banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts
G

·
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
How would butterworts do in a terrarium? I really think they're pretty cool looking and think they would look nice on a my coco & great stuff background. Would this work? Or would they be better suited to the ground? How much light do they need (direct light, indirect light, partially shade, etc.) ?

G

·
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
I agree with Scott. I had a couple in my azureus viv once and they were destroyed by constant trampling. I have been wanting to give them another try but will most likely use them in a viv for the smaller thumbnails.

-Bill J.

·
Registered
1,799 Posts
It woouldnt be hard, just put a cup in the backround foam, and do it htat way, you probally did that already anyways. But they are fragile and cant take much from what i heard(of course i go by hearsay because i am not a carniv person)/

·
Registered
3,990 Posts
P. primuflora.

Since I'm a CP expert pretty much, I can say butterworts are only a possibility with a few adjustments. I honestly DO NOT recommend butterworts for beginners with CPs. All "flowering" carnivorous plants are touchy. Its best to stick with Nepenthes and small sundews like D. adalae in a dart frog tank.
My question to ask you dudes first, what butterwort species was it? It sounds like you had the rather pathetic P. primiflora. They are widely available, even at hardware stores along with the dying flytraps. They produce pinkish violet flowers that are round with a yellow and white throats. P. primiflora is notorious for being difficult to maintain longterm, even for mainstay CPers. They are also short lived perrenials or annuals native to warm temp regions of US.