Dendroboard banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts
G

·
0 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
i have a total noob question...

for frogs that like laying eggs in bomelaids, why is this natural? i imagine that if you didn't remove them (as everyone seems to do) the tadpoles would end up in this tiny cup of water unless displaced to a larger body of water. and i would think that this tiny body of water's quite unstable in a natural environment (wind, animals, etc could easily brush by it and knock the eggs/tadpoles and water out).

so in their natural environment, do frogs use bromelaid-type watering holes for laying their clutch, or is this just something that the hobby has taken to?

thanks,
sam

·
Registered
141 Posts
Its much easier for a frog to keep an eye on their tads/eggs if their in a little brom, not a pond. Its predator free, and the odds of an animal are much less of it knocking the tad out and something eating the tad in a big pool. The tads are normally transported by a parent to a bigger body of water once its necessary. Then, their on their own.

·
Registered
1,921 Posts
As Bill Duellman, reknowned herpetologist, writes in the introduction to several of his books. The typical life history of frogs that lay eggs in ponds and then leave the eggs to fate is not really so typical. The majority of frog species live in the tropics and in wet environments, there are many benefits to laying eggs on land and either transporting the tadpoles or allowing them to drop in a suitable body of water which is small and predator free as the previous post explained. Dart frogs actually carry their tadpoles on their backs and haul them to suitable places to grow. Often these suitable places are those tiny cups of water you are wondering about. In the grand world of frogs. Dart frogs are not so strange afterall. It's those bullfrog that are weirdos.

G

·
0 Posts
Discussion Starter #4