Dendroboard banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts
G

·
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
i am new to darts and know next to NOTHING about plants,but i was told darts like broms..so i bought one.i have it in my 10 gallon tank.i have all ESU moss for substrate and im using the ESU slimline lighting.well,my problem is the broms 'leaves' are browning and shriveling up.i leave the lights on from about 10AM-11PM.is that too much light? i dont think i am over watering it...i use a hand mister about twice a day(a few big squirts) and the moss isnt soaking wet.please help.

Mike

·
Registered
298 Posts
brom

Mike; its a little hard to make a guess. I will need more into. How long have you had it in the tank. Do you know what kind it is? Is there water in the vase? Are the leaves turning brown at the bottom or top? A picture MIGHT be helpful, but it may not show enough detail, so don't put great effert in that. What kind of water do youuse?..........

·
Registered
1,373 Posts
I had this happen to me when i was overwatering. Are they planted in the substrate or grown epyphitacally? What kind of broms are they?

Luke

G

·
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
well,i have NO CLUE what kind of brom it is...its got a yellow 'flower' in the middle...its still in the lil plastic pot i bought it in.its been in the tank for a lil over a week.i use DISTILLED water

·
Registered
121 Posts
Maybe the brom you have is Neoregelia fireball...

is not good idea to keep the broms planted, as they grows in the higher parts of the trees, and don´t like to be wet always. If you keep them wet all time, they´ll rot easily, because the wet makes they prone to bacterial and fungus infections.

it is best to keep them in the background of the tank, or planted in a well drained tank.

·
Registered
68 Posts