Dendroboard banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
Nothing (well, I have fish, but I don't think that's what this is asking)
12 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi all!
I am a complete beginner when it comes to Dart Frogs, but I'm interested and willing to research/learn. I was wondering what the best beginner Dart Frog is and how to care for them. I would like to do a bioactive enclosure from the start since I feel that those are my thing because I have a ton of planted aquariums. Thanks!

·
Registered
1,826 Posts
Welcome aboard.

The most typically recommended beginner species are:
Dendrobates leucomelas
Dendrobates tinctorius
Dendrobates auratus

As far as care goes, there's a caresheet sub forum on here with some, albeit dated, caresheets.

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Welcome aboard.

The most typically recommended beginner species are:
Dendrobates leucomelas
Dendrobates tinctorius
Dendrobates auratus

As far as care goes, there's a caresheet sub forum on here with some, albeit dated, caresheets.
I really like Dendrobates leucomelas and Dendrobates tinctorius. What humidity do those frogs need? Also, would dart frogs benefit from a small pond/body of water in their enclosure? I'm going to do a bioactive enclosure...

·
Registered
1,826 Posts
I really like Dendrobates leucomelas and Dendrobates tinctorius. What humidity do those frogs need? Also, would dart frogs benefit from a small pond/body of water in their enclosure? I'm going to do a bioactive enclosure...
60-80% humidity is generally regarded as ideal.

No dart frogs need a water body/pond in their enclosures. None of my tanks have one.

·
Super Moderator
3,309 Posts
I'm going to try putting the humidity recommendations this way from now on:

"A properly planted, adequately ventilated, appropriately misted dart frog viv will tend to have daily variations from 60-80% humidity."