Dendroboard banner
1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
34 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am new to the dendro world and was just wondering which ones are the best to start out with and breed? Also it would help if you would include what conditions and what habitats they will thrive in and what I will need for breeding.

Thanks- bbboys

·
Registered
2,426 Posts
E. anthonyi 'Santa Isabela' (aka SI's) are hardy and are very prolific. They get awesome red coloration as they age too. Here's a thread I keep for them. You can see their viv there too.

Also read the care sheets to get a sense of the husbandry and breeding habits for different frog species.

·
Registered
34 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Thanks for the quick response... I will look into those what would I need do breed them? also any other ideas on frogs are welcome

·
Registered
2,076 Posts
A lot of the larger dart frogs are easier to keep, other than a few exceptions. Leucs, auratus, tincs (including azureus,) etc. are all other good beginner frogs. For the most part, breeding requirements will be generally the same for these easier frogs- give them good conditions, an adequate tank, proper food and supplementation, and they will typically do the rest. Get used to caring for them properly first, and then breeding should be relatively easy when the time comes. For tincs, usually pairs are best because of aggression; leucs and auratus can work in groups, but females may eat eggs sometimes. There is plenty of more detailed information in the care sheet sections, or on the boards here through a search, or even through other dart frog web sites. If you have any other specific questions feel free to ask, but it seems you are really excited to get breeding, which isn't a bad thing necessarily, but I suggest you don't rush it and enjoy the frogs breeding or not. You will probably get better results that way.
Bryan

·
Registered
725 Posts