Dendroboard banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts
G

·
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi

i am new to the hobby and pretty much have been reading alot lately since i recieved my frogs. A friend of mine had just bought two frogs and was not able to keep them beacuse his mother is terrified of them so he gave them to me. Although i have plenty of experience with saltwater aquariums and coral proping, these are my first frogs and from what i have read they are not very good beginner frogs. They are two pumilio one bastimentos and one blue jeans. I have not yet been able to determine their sex nor do i know how old they are. I have a large tank (45 gallons) but have read its best to keep these specieces in a smaller tank so i will be getiing a 10 gallon tomorrow.Right now they are in the big tank with 75 degree temp and 90% humidity. i put a few ferns and i mist 3 times a day. If there is anyone here who could give me some advice id appreciate it.

·
Registered
248 Posts
Pum's

I'm glad you've got the well-being of these frogs in mind. It's hard to take care of things when they get placed on you. Since you have two different color morphs, (bastimentos and most likely the almirante), I recommend separating them for stress and for eating purposes. I advise you use the "sweater box" method. You can go to dollar general and get 16 quart sweater boxes for like 2 bucks. Walmart also has Sterlite ones that are nice. I've used both, and can't remember how much the Sterlite ones were. Lay down a layer of gravel and then moss, and then some cover like corkbark and some pothos. Also, you're gonna want to get some Meloganaster fruit flies and fast! I haven't tried feeding my pum's pinheads but since they're not eating them, it could be a sign that they are too big, or they're still stressed. I hope it all works out for you, good luck, and if you have any questions feel free to ask!

Best,

G

·
Discussion Starter · #3 ·