Dendroboard banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I currently have a 1.80 meter high/1.20 meter wide/ 0.90 meter large tank with 0.0.8 Azureus
I also have a 40cm3 with 0.0.3 Leucomelas

the Azureus being 8/9 months old I will pick 2.1 to put in the small tank and exchange the 5 others for 5 Leucomelas to put in the large tank. How do you select your “keeper Frog”? the most active? The biggest? Or you consider the spot pattern on aesthetics preferences?

I find out that the Azureus don’t climb and some of them are much larger than others. I didn’t see any agression but after consulting the Dendroboard, I feel like the tank is not big enough for more than one female cause the ground floor is just 1 squared meter

I m also planning on getting 3 Tumucumaque, Lorenzo, koetari or Oyapock. Which one do you advice me? My new tank will be 45/45/60cm. I heard Lorenzo can be tricky to breed. Keep in my I’m a beginner frog keeper but experience ball Breeder and begonia lover ( I have more than 100 breed : wild species and hybrid)

thanks for all the knowledge I get here and waiting for the answer of experienced keeper.

Dark.

·
Registered
737 Posts
There is no gold standard for choosing which frogs to keep vs rehoming. Aesthetics, certain traits, personal preference, all are equally valid.

Same goes for what other tincs to get, get whichever you like the most.

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Thanks for your answer, my favorite are the Lorenzo but it’s seems to be a delicate morph. Requiring special care and supplement to breed properly. So I’m hesitating

·
Registered
260 Posts
Environmental conditions and supplementation should be no different than any other tinc. Focus on good husbandry first and breeding can be figured out over time. I pick the frogs I want based on my personal preferences first. Breeding is just icing on the cake for me.

·
Super Moderator
3,555 Posts