Dendroboard banner
1 - 17 of 17 Posts
G

·
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
i wonted to know where can i get tree bark to have as a backround and i also wont to know how you ppl paste it to you tanks.. iv seen lots of ppl use foam is this neccasery?

G

·
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
The foam is generally used to provide more texture to the background. So if you do not mind the flat panel just use silicone. Make sure the silicone says "safe for food usage on it".

Stitch

G

·
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
im thinking about going with the foam because i like the way it comes out but another question i have is how do you attach plants to the bark?

sorry im asking so many questions but im new to this and i have sooo many idea's for my first terrarium and im trying to learn as much as i can..

G

·
Discussion Starter · #9 ·
I mixed cork, cypress wood, and foam covered by coco bedding. It seems to be working out great. Next time i would make sure i control the drip wall better though. The water seems to have a mind of its own.

G

·
Discussion Starter · #10 ·
soo i foam the bark to my tank and the left over foam thats sticking out i cover it with coco bedding or do i let it dry then cut the exas foam

G

·
Discussion Starter · #13 ·
This is a good start.

http://www.blackjungle.com/gallery/talltank/page1.html

1. I layed the tank on its back do you are not fighting the foam/gravity.
2. Arranged my wood pieces
3. Filled the gaps with the foam. Be warned this stuff expands a few inches and is very flammable.
4. Added a few more pieces of wood and cork bark after the original foam was fairly solid, about 3 hours.
5. Filled in the gaps
6. Repeat until your happy.
7. Working in small areas, apply silicone and coco bedding or similar material over this.
8. Once its dry remove excess material.