Dendroboard banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have some Leucomelas in a tilted container with water in it. They have been tadpoles for quite some time but recently have grown legs and sucked up their tail. Throughout the day, and right now, thay are climbing up the sides of the container out of the water. I assume that means that they should be put into my tank but i'm not sure if their ready because they have not fully generated their color. Any Help?

·
Registered
479 Posts
I'm not an expert, but from what I've read at this point they are ready for their grow out container. It can be anything from a plastic shoe box to a 10 gallon tank where they have just a little bit of water in a corner if you want so that they can still transition from water to land. I've only had one so far. I put in a sterilite container with a puddle of water not enough to cover his head in one corner and I used Leca and Moss to cover the rest of the container and leaf litter and a bit of pothos on top of the moss. He still liked to sit in that water for several days after absorbing the tail but now he's officially out and hiding somewhere in the leaf litter. You should have springtails and fruit flies ready for them to eat at this point.

·
Registered
446 Posts
I will let someone more experienced chime in for a definite answer.. but from my understanding.. they are definately ready to go. I have seen some put in their tanks with still some of the tail to absorb.

·
Registered
2,954 Posts
If they have crawled out of the water, then put them in a grow out tank. For a grow out tank just put sphagnum moss with lots of leaf litter.

·
Registered
2,180 Posts