Dendroboard banner
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
1,961 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have put a fake rock cave (I don't care for coco huts) and a lid underneath in the viv so my frogs can get used to the idea of it being there, they're not adults yet. I may have two females, and I was wondering if the females will lay eggs without a male, or will they hold them and reabsorb the eggs? How much water should I put in the lid?

·
Registered
1,961 Posts
Discussion Starter · #2 ·
Oh, one more thing... Can someone please post pics of sexable azureus that show the scale? My frogs are about 1.5", and I'm still not able to tell their sex, since I'm new at it.

G

·
You will be able to tell the difference in sex when they are fully mature. In both of my pairs, the female is much much larger, in size and weight. The male is smaller in size and weight, and has larger branching toepads. They are very easy to sex when fully adults.

·
Registered
533 Posts
You're not going to want to put any water in the lids. Once you see eggs I like to keep them in for 24 more hours to make sure they are fertile. After you remove the lid add a small amount of water to keep the eggs from drying up.

-Richard

·
Administrator
13,228 Posts
In my case I think size is tough to tell, but toepads are easy. Male toepads are larger and flat compared to the back toes. Females are about the same front and back. Hope that helps. I have seen pictures of sized ones that were easy to tell by size. I either have a big male or a small female, becuase mine are close. Either way I think I am on my 5th clutch and have 4 tads in the water and 4 more ready to come out of the egg sack.

Arklier said: