Dendroboard banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
255 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello all,
Just looking for some opinions on the sex of my auratus. I believe the first pic to be a female, but I am no expert. Sorry for the terrible pictures. I've noticed no aggression between the two in the 5 months I've had them (or courtship behavior). Let me know what you all think. Thanks very much,
-Sean

Attachments

·
Registered
813 Posts
auratus aren't known for being aggressive, and tend to do well in groups. So that's not really a sign of anything. You're going to have to get some better pics. The first one looks female. The other frog is hard to really see.

·
Registered
255 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
I'll try and get some better pictures. Thanks. I'm hoping the smaller one is a male. Front pads are big, but back toe pads arent so. The body type leads me to think male as well but I am far from an expert.

·
Registered
2,083 Posts
It's only the front toepads that are enlarged. Although the plump body of the first one suggests that it's a female, there is really no way to tell without clear photos.
I'll try and get some better pictures. Thanks. I'm hoping the smaller one is a male. Front pads are big, but back toe pads arent so. The body type leads me to think male as well but I am far from an expert.

·
Registered
781 Posts
IMO there is no way to rely know until you see/hear calling or pair two frogs up and get eggs.
I have a male auratus that is plump and pear shaped and has tiny toe pads, but when I put him in a tank with a known female he started calling and I got eggs.

Auratus can be difficult to sex.

·
Registered
255 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·