Dendroboard banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
370 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So I got this pic the other day of one my auratus. It was sold to me as the standard Panama auratus, however it looks nothing like the others I have. I also have one that is more greenish with the same bronzey spots, but every spot on it is perfectly round. It is also about 85% green as opposed to the primarly black Panama auratus. I will post a pic of it when I can get one.

Any thoughts as to what you might call this frog?

·
Registered
1,052 Posts
Looks very similar to what I have heard called "microspots", which are from Panama as far as I know... but I am not an auratus expert by any means lol. Very pretty frog though. I am planning on getting some like this myself later this year, hopefully.

·
Registered
1,052 Posts
Oh, I forgot to mention that their ground color (the green in this case) and change over time as they mature, and are slightly different between individuals from the same parents. Some may be more green and others may be more turquois, but they are the same frog and shouldn't be considered different.

G

·
What does microspot signify? All D. auratus are highly variable in patterning, so it is some-what confusing to me...
j

·
Registered
1,052 Posts