Dendroboard banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
3,798 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
just wondering if there are any others on here.

im not a professional, but ive been training professionally for metalworking and forging as a compliment to my industrial design degree. ive got credit for a welding class (from our school of design) and im working on forging (blacksmithing) at the moment.

its pretty fun! and thats quite the understatement. theres just a feeling about being able to create something with your hands that cant be matched.

james

·
Registered
477 Posts
Ex-metal worker here. Started out in an industrial boiler repair shop, blowtorches, stick welding, cutting out rotten sections of 3/8" to 1/2" thick plate, then cutting, fitting,and welding new ones in their place on pressure vessels. It was some seriously good experience for the next job. After 5 yrs there I gained employment in a small, hi-end custom fabrication shop up here in north jersey. The majority of our clients were in NYC. We were working w/ everything from bronze to stainless steel. Did a little bit of forging here and there, but mostly tig welding, machining, press brake operation etc. The only cpu operated thing we had before it took a crap was a plasmacam. I'm also quite experienced in patina work, gunmetal finishes, antique finishes,etc, etc. But after being there for three years it was time to leave (sad situation, loved what I did, but the working environment was rediculous and so was the boss).