Dendroboard banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
443 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I've been feeding my Tincs a diet high in ants for the past 2 years. I now want to make the ants a permanent part of the micofauna.The benefit are;
1.A constant supply of food to my PAF.
2.A new janitorial group for my vivarium.
3.Adding to the chemical make-up, to there food, in which they loose in captivity. Helping to retain my frog's color naturally.
4.Giving them a diet, what they're use to in the wild.
I read a article awhile ago in Reptile Magazine, that over 90% PAF's diet consist of ants and mites.This acticle is what made me increase the ants, in my own frog's diet. With a diet like that, I think the common name should be change from Dart Frogs, to Ant Frogs. I'm plan on making the ants a permenent part by the use of ant plants in my vivarium.

·
Registered
933 Posts
That might be a little difficult to pull off. What species are you currently feeding them and where are you getting them from?
I assume you have a queen? How are you going to ensure the queen isn't eaten? How are you going to regulate the production of new ants, to the point they can feed the colony, feed the frogs and not overwhelm the frogs and stress them out?
In my frogs fecals, I've seen the small black ants we have here in Florida (not fire ants or the tiny grease ants) pass thru my frogs whole. I wonder how much in the way of nutrition they actually get from eating ants.
Interesting Idea and I hope it works out for you.

·
Registered
1,420 Posts
When i was at Rich Frye's house in one of his larger vivs he had colonie of large ants. I mean damn near half the length of a pum. Personally i would be concerned about predation on frogs but he said its never been an issue. As far as I know that was the only tank that had them though. There was a good size stump they where living in if I remember correctly. been a long time since I was there though.

·
Registered
443 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 · (Edited)