Dendroboard banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello another newbie here looking to get in contact with a local guy/ gal in san diego area, my family is looking to get some frogs and do a tank and looking to meet someone to ask questions and view their set ups. I have had discus for years, bred them and so on but my 1 1/2 yr old likes to play with the water and drop toys in so out their tank goes and looking for frogs to put up on a shelf.. my 5 yr old turned me on to them he knows more than I do about them it seems... I know basics but looking to gain knowledge before buying anything.. any local breeders keepers and so on to the san diego area?.. our house stays 73-76 during days and 67-72 at night.. other things we keep besides discus are orchids plumerias and my kids ;) for now.... j/k

As of now looking at 30 gal but probably going to go 50 standard or tall instead, just got rid of our biotope discus 225 gal so if I got a reason to go big I will...

Any help is appreciated but I look forward to reading and learning alot.. and would love connections with locals instead of doing the pet store thing... thanks again

·
Registered
835 Posts
There are a lot of great dart folks that really know there stuff in San Diego. Try the regional forums and I am certain you can hook up with some folks.

I've done fish, both fresh and salt. I assure you will find many PDF's are far easier to breed than Discus.

Many people here would kill to have a 225 viv display. I wouldn't kick it to the curb just yet.

Let us know who you meet and what you saw. To me, there is nothing better than visiting a vet's home. I always seem to learn a tremendous amount.

Here's another hint. Offer to help do frog chores if you're invited over. That's when you put your learning curve on blast!

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·