Dendroboard banner
1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
39 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
My first build was a 10 gallon vertical conversion, and for a variety of reasons it didn't work out. So, I got an In Situ Amazonia as it seemed like the best terrarium for a beginner and definitely worth the investment.

For the background, I siliconed three panels of tree fern fiber. I didn't want to make a foam background, and a friend told me that plants root incredibly well to fill in the background. For substrate, I put down a layer of activated charcoal across the bottom and leca balls in the drainage section in front. Then, I added an inch or so of homemade ABG mix and leaf litter.

Thanks to advice from dendroboard I landed on a hardscape design I liked and planted with trimmings from my local vivarium group.

·
Registered
39 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·

Took this photo about 10 minutes ago. Nearly 3 months of growth and a few new additions. I recently started practicing with culturing flies, and I expect to get frogs next month.

I'm hoping to add some smaller epiphytic ferns to the log on the right, and fill in the background with a few more large aroids. Any other suggestions?

·
Registered
106 Posts
smaller epiphytic ferns
My go-to's are Elaphoglossum peltatu and Asplenium sp. thread leaf. I also imported some Elaphoglossum apodum "mini" from Ecuagnera which seems pretty cool. Edit: Forgot to mention how awesome this viv looks! I would suggest changing the large brom with the red center for a different one as it sort of sticks out and draws the eye in though. Other than that its dope.

·
Registered
2x Dendrobates leucomelas
34 Posts