Dendroboard banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
739 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Originally I was not planning on adding any fans or air circulation to my 29G Paludarium, but now I think it might be a good idea. [ Link to my build is at bottom of this message. ] I did watch James67's amazing fan how-to video.

Important note, this is not a tropical viv. This is a paludarium for a firebelly newt. The max temp I plan for is 68-70 F (light fixture heat may be a problem, although it will be raised several inches above tank lid). However, it seems to me that regardless of whether it's "temperate" or "tropical", a humid enclosure should have good air circulation for the health of the plants and animals.

I'm a noob at all of this, and I imagine that a paludarium will have slightly different conditions than say a viv for pdf's. Be warned I have a billion questions because I am literally the noobest of noobs regarding technical vivs. :eek: At one point I thought I could have a section of mesh along the back of the lid to allow natural circulation, but I do want there to be a decent amount of humidity so I can get good plant and moss growth so I am worried that a mesh strip wouldn't hold enough moisture in...I am not sure how to balance the humidity/temp/circulation etc...it's all very intimidating actually :confused:

- do you think that a 29G build such as mine requires fans for circulation?
- or do you think that a strip of fiberglass window screen (or several large holes with screen) across the top lid at the back would be enough circulation?
- is the idea with fans to simply MOVE the air? OR is it to EXCHANGE the air with fresh air from outside the tank?
- what would be the ideal cfm's and how many fans, if I were to go with fans? (I like the idea of the small 40mm fans in james67's video...maybe like 2 or 3 of those?)
- this isn't super high tech so do I really need a fan controller?
- should the fans turn off at night?