Dendroboard banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So i am a new dart frog owner <3 I got some culture kits and get the basics " I think" however im unsure when to change the flies to a new one and also what do i do with the larva? Am i suppose to keep them in the container until they grow into flies? I want to raise them so i don't have to buy them all the time. Any help is needed thanks!

·
Registered
2,954 Posts
But media from a sponsor, then mix about a half inch with water until it's like mash potatoes, then add a pinch of yeast, and a coffee filter. Then add about 20 flies from a previous culture, and your done. The flies should populate in about a week or two. Then just repeat with another culture.

·
Registered
446 Posts
Just a question.. what is the yeast for? I have been culturing flies for a few months without yeast.

As far as OP's question.. dont have to remove anything.. leave larvae in and turn to flies.. then when you make a new culture.. just shake about 20-30 flies from your previous culture into the mix as mentioned above.. and it will take off.. when old one gets gross.. just throw it away.

·
Registered
564 Posts
Yeast is a good source of food for fruit flies (rich in protein), so they'll be nice and nutritious for your hungry frogs

·
Registered
19,322 Posts
Just a question.. what is the yeast for? I have been culturing flies for a few months without yeast.

As far as OP's question.. dont have to remove anything.. leave larvae in and turn to flies.. then when you make a new culture.. just shake about 20-30 flies from your previous culture into the mix as mentioned above.. and it will take off.. when old one gets gross.. just throw it away.