Dendroboard banner
1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
1,415 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Well, i have introduced my first set of males to my 75 gallon viv (which can be seen in my gallery). I have a few more that I am ordering soon, and then I have 5 young frogs that I am going to wait on introducing.

My question is this, what do you people that have good experience in breeding thumbnails think of this project I am undertaking? THe viv is 22 x 13 x 48 (HxWxL). It has TONS of space for vents. Anyway, I am planning on a group of about 11 in the next few months being in there. I am going to let them do their own thing, and let them raise all young (maybe food supplements will be given to tads, if I can find them and if they need them). Is it possible to have them going as a self sustaining (as in breeding) colony? Will the young be able to survive? THis is my first time attempting something as this, and am a bit concerned. So anyone's ideas would be well appreciated. Also, I am looking for insect species which have an aquatic larvae (similar too mosquito's) that would thrive in the viv, as a food source for future tads. Thanks, and I hope I can get some good ideas flowing. Sorry for this being so confusing, :roll:

Ed Parker

·
Registered
621 Posts
I like the idea, I plan on doing a similar tank with a 25 gal. tall. I am going to introduce about 10-12 vents into this tank. I would try to include as many infestastions as possible. With all those frogs and soon to be neonates, your going to want a nice reproducing food supply in the viv. Maybe you can make a springtail culture spot, where you can replace springtail cultures periodically. As for other aquatics, is daphnia possible. Maybe one of the varieties could make it.

G

·
Ed,