Dendroboard banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts
G

·
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
:D Yea! Im getting a 75 gallon tank and stand for christmas and i was wandering what lighting and heating i should use. And what dendrobate is really bold, eats quickly, and is large, and under $40$ :) And that is not Cobalt tincs,cause i allready have those. And 1 more question i think is stupid... can i put boiled cedar wood in the tank? I heard NO but that was somewhere els. I think its a no, but im not shure. ;-) Thanks for the help.

Paul

·
Registered
1,415 Posts
Hey paul,
That is greatyou are getting that large of a tank. I am no expert, but I have heard that Phyllobate terribilis are very bold. They aren't to expensive, also, azureus are supposed to be bold, but they are a little bit more, but if you look around you can find them for 40 dollars. Hmm, I have heard the leucomela's are bold, and they are also very beautiful frogs, way under your 40 dollar mark. Anyway, good luck. Oh yeah, I don't think I would use the cedar. I forget what it gives off, but it is not good, unless it is a really old weathered piece. If it is fresh, or still has that cedar smell, dont use it.

Ed Parker

G

·
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Ok, i know of a piece thats old, but ill not use it to be on the safe side. I was doing some frog research and i found something interesting! :shock: Dendrobates lehmanni, i hear there an OK frog, but hard to breed. And there bold, but i think they might be expensive. ?!? But im shure ill find a breeder of this species someday. But im setting the tank up when i get my stand. Heres my plan for the tank, ill have a 2 inch. falsebottom, then screen (plastic) then i will cover the bottom 4 or 3 inches with smart stuff foam, and the back and 1 side. Ill let it harden, then cut out 2 streams and a waterfall. Well, just a few ideas, but im shure ill get the idea. Thanks for the help and sugestions. :D

Paul

·
Super Moderator
3,586 Posts