Dendroboard banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
i have two 20gal long tanks and was wondering if i should set them up as dart frog tanks are keep them for maybe quarantine tanks instead or go with setting them up for fish these are a couple tanks that been in storage that i was looking to use in my frog room but seem short was thinking about 1 of them for small group of yellow and black walking toads just asking what you guys and gals think cannot decide

·
Registered
835 Posts
I think that this is a decision/choice that only you can make.

Fresh water fish are pretty much plug and play...unless you're doing Discus or something and they wouldn't be going in a 20 long.

While I am new to all of this, I think that you need to be really sure you want PDF's before getting them. I can see Darts being a big chore to someone that wasn't absolutely crazy over them. Either you suffer, or the frogs suffer.

OTOH, if PDF's speak to your soul, then by all means set up a tank, settle it, get the iso's going, work on practice fly cultures, select a breeder or hobbyist to purchase from, and have at it !

·
Registered
1,916 Posts
I used to keep my Polypterus in 20 longs, but I usually used taller tanks for freshwater setups. The one problem with 20l vivs is after you do a false-bottom, substrate, etc you have very little usable space. I am sure that they would be fine for quarantine tanks. You might be able to set them up for Melanophrynuscus because I believe they can do without a deep drainage layer but need a relatively deep substrate layer....hopefully someone with more experience with the species will chime in. Good luck with whatever you decide.

·
Registered
2,132 Posts