Dendroboard banner

1 - 20 of 138 Posts

·
Registered
575 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
OK This Is My First Attempt At Building A Vivarium. Please By All Means Correct Me And Add Anything I Need To Do. But The Way I'm Going To Do This Build (By Means Of Updating It) Is As I Finish Adding To The Viv I'm Going To Update It To Here.

Materials:
1 20 Gallon Long Aquarium
1 Glass Top Canopy
2 Cans Of Great Stuff Foam.
2 Tubes Of G.E Silicone II Brown.
1 48" Light Diffuser (Egg Crate)
1 Bag Of Orchid Bark
1 Bag Of Eco Earth Substrate (Coco Fiber)
1 Bag Of Sphagnum Moss

Tools Used: (As Of Right Now)
Tape Measure
Expo Dry Erase Markers ( Life Savers When Drawing Plans On Tank)
Caulk Gun( Haven't Used Yet)
Wire Cutters (To Cut Egg Crate)
Scissors (To Clean Up The Shape Edges).

(NEXT UPDATE PREVIEW) Cutting Eggcrate Crate To Make The False Bottom.

·
Registered
575 Posts
Discussion Starter · #2 ·
I'm Sorry About The Delay On Progress Guys. I Just Haven't Had Time To Do Anything To The Vivarium. But Today I Got A lot Of Progress Done. I've Got My False Bottom Done And The Back Glass With Great Stuff Background.

The Previous Night I Did Silicone And Zip Tied The Eggratr To Get The Basic Design.

OK So I Finished The Back Piece Which Will Be Used As An Access To Drain Water Out The Bottom And To Prevent Stress Points On The Glass And Prevent Shattering. If You Look At The Two Pieces In The Middle Of The Tank That Look Raised, Its An Experiment To Give The Tank And Substrate A Hilly Effect. (So Its Not Flat And Boring).

So I've Finally Started To Mess With The Tank It Self. As You Can See I've Glued PVS Pipe ( They Are An Inch And 1/2 Tall)

THAT CONCLUDES THIS UPDATE OF THE FALSE BOTTOM.
(NEXT UPDATE PREVIEW) : GREAT STUFF BACKGROUND

·
Registered
1,916 Posts
Lookin good so far....I tried that sphag and it degrades really fast, just something to keep in mind. Great idea about the dry erase markers, that will be helpful with my next build. Keep us updated.
-Field

·