Dendroboard banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
6,827 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Well, I don't think to this day I have done a formal construction journal. And even this one isn't a total construction journal since I don't have pics of me building the conversion kit for the 20 gal but this is all I gots.... :D

I apologize for the CRAPPY photos in this first post. I took them with my cell phone. Its just easier while in the middle of making messes. I promise the final shots will be with the DSLR though. :eek:

So after seeing so many awesome fake tree threads, I just had to try and build one. I decided to go the Ace Hardware brand Concrete Binder and peat moss method. I think Ace is the only one that makes a concrete binder b/c I couldn't find another brand at Lowes, Home Depot or Menards. Go figure...

Here are the 2 vivs I'm doing currently. The 20 gal is really my "practice" viv. Since its my first time with this method, I wanted to practice on the smaller one and save the big'un for my second try after I discover the hiccups and what not.

So I started out with some 1/2" PVC, cut to size and took the propane torch to them. Torch, twist, stick in front of fan to harden into place. Pretty simple...

Next, I test fit them in various formations and picked one. Used some small bungee cord and twist ties to hold into place while I epoxied them together. I don't have a pic of the epoxy but its the clear stuff that Loctite makes. Basically this... Loctite Epoxy Instant Mix 5 Minute from Loctite Adhesives

After the epoxy hardened, I used various poly rope in two thicknesses and some plastic clothes line wire to make the vines. I did this in stages so that I could attempt to make it look realistic. I dunno if I achieved that but its looks okay. I used hot glue to hold the vines in place on the PVC pipes until they were coated in the binder/peat mixture.