Dendroboard banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Before I go into any details I will first shortly introduce myself.
I am Alex a 20 year old student teacher english from the Netherlands.
I currently house 7 geckos here of varying species and I plan to expand my collection with some frogs aswell.
I currently have a 20ish gallon exo terra terrarium with a cave gecko in it, it used to house crested geckos but they turned out to be both males and I could not keep 1 and trade the other for a female so I brought them both to a zoo type reptile store.

But onto the build!

This will be my first build wherein I will do everything myself.
I have some experience with a naturalistic leopard gecko terrarium but this build will go above and beyond what I accomplished there.

The tank:
It is a 110 gallon (arboreal orientated) Lucky Reptile herp-tarrium, it is still unclear what will be housed in there.
The tank will have a small (5 gallonish) water area and a waterfall.
It will have all live plants ofcourse.
For the background I am planning the great stuff and silicone background with a twist: I want to try a greatstuff background method where I will paint the greatstuff and then cover it with Yacht varnish and press in the fernroot and eco earth mixture.
I am yet unsure wether or not that would work but I have had succes with a method like that in a fishtank I made for someone.
After some research I aquired peat based plant pots which I will use in the background, these will give my plants some nutrient value and look better than the black pots in my opinion.

I will use a false bottom made from eggcrate ( hard to come by in the Netherlands btw), and I am currently constructing my own rainsystem made from a campervan waterpump and a garden sprinkler/drip system.