No Threads to Display.

facebook

Like Tree1Likes
  • 1 Post By KingCam

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-14-2012, 10:11 PM

Default First Time Breeding Grey Treefrogs

Hello all!

First let me say, I am not new to keeping these creatures, but this is my first time cycling them and attempting to breed.

I'm definitely a newb when it comes to this, so hopefully you guys can help me out along the way.

I have 5 wc grey tree frogs of varying size. 1 is rather small, two are medium, 1 is large, and 1 is extra large. A couple of my frogs were calling often last fall before I put them into brumation.

I fattened them all up on lobster roaches, stopped feeding them in november, and gradually cooled them down to 50F starting December 1.

They are all "sleeping" together in a large Tupperware container, filled with damp peat moss with a water bowl. Occasionally one of them will be out and about, but for the most part they stay motionless in holes they have each dug.

They seem to be doing great and are still nice and plump.

I plan to take them out of the mini-fridge tomorrow and put them in the garage. I will leave them in their tupperware container in the garage until March 1st. On March first I will return them to their terrarium.

I recently removed the substrate from the bottom of their terrarium and replaced it with a 4 gallon rubbermade container. The container has aged tap water with a small bubble stone. Above the container are lots of limbs and some live plants.

I plan to let them adjust to the warmth for a week and attempt feeding on March 7th-ish.

I will mist them daily, and starting April 1st I'm going to try to mist heavily 3 times a day.

Do you think that will be enough to induce breeding behavior? I am hoping they will breed and lay eggs right in their tank. When/if I discover eggs I can just scoop them out and place them in a 10 gallon aquarium.

Am I on the right track here, guys? Give me some advice!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement