Dendroboard

Go Back   Dendroboard > Miscellaneous > Other Amphibians > Tree frogs
Register Blogs FAQ Calendar Mark Forums Read Advertise

Support Our Sponsors
No Threads to Display.

facebook

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-25-2020, 07:57 PM

Default Help breeding Boophis Albilabris (white-lipped bright-eyed frogs)

Recently a trusted local supplier got some B. Albilabris, and so of course I had to get some. I got three of the four available frogs, and boy are they lovely. One is a tad fat, and the other two are a tad underweight. They appear otherwise healthy and comfortable, and have already accepted Repashy dusted crickets.

Since they are so rare in the hobby, not bred in captivity, and Madagascar restricted exports, I’ve decided to attempt to breed. I have no prior experience with breeding, although my bird poop frogs have been getting it on recently (without me trying to get them to).
I can find very little information on these guys, much less on captive care and breeding. I have replicated their climate, and they have a 5 gal fully established, cycle, filtered and heated aquatic area to mimic the streams along where they’re found. (I have a few small tetras and loach in there, which are doing well and aren’t bothering or bothered by the frogs). I will soon get UVB.

From what I can gather, they are a brook breeding species who lay their eggs underwater, attached to rocks. They breed after heavy rains, I think, during the end of summer. Some of this is taken from info from a breeding project with Boophis phyyris, which seems to have similar breeding habits and is closely related to B. Albilabris, but of course not the same thing so there might be differences. The paper published on B. Phyyris had a lot of info and interesting statistics. It also mentioned that Albilabris was once successfully bred in captivity, by an unnamed conservation facility. It also seems they had to directly contact the facility to learn this.