facebook

Like Tree2Likes
  • 1 Post By Lukeomelas
  • 1 Post By cmlloveless

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-25-2012, 08:23 PM

Default Female imitator aggression?

Greetings,

I am a brand new member of Dendroboard but have been keeping and studying poison frogs for a few years. I've been perusing through posts and finding observations of female-female aggression in imitator. I'm interested in this because I am studying biparental care and monogamy in R. imitator for my master's thesis.

Here's a bit more on my research if you're interested:
Summers lab - James Tumulty

Anyway, I have observed lots of male-male aggression in the field (My field work was in Chazuta, Peru), but never any female-female aggression. Males are highly territorial, but I have no reason to think that females are. However, seeing people post here about female-female aggression indicates that they might be territorial as well, or possibly the aggression serves as mate-guarding (a female fights off other females to keep their male to themselves).

It would be a big help to me if anyone who has kept female imitator together could tell me, 1) if you have observed female-female aggression, and 2) does it appear to be mate-guarding (do the females wrestle when there is a male present/calling)?

Any observations would be useful, thanks!

James
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 02-25-2012, 10:03 PM

Default Re: Female imitator aggression?

Also, sorry if this post seems redundant, as there's a very recent thread about imitator aggression. I'm just curious about aggression between two frogs who are actually known to be females.
Old 02-26-2012, 03:59 AM

Hey James, I've got a trio of Baja Huallaga Imis. The females are aggressive, but I have not witnessed any wrestling. Mostly one of the females will chase the other away especially when they are in breeding mode.

Vanzo's, BH imis, Benedicta and Flav's

Old 02-29-2012, 06:04 PM
TWI/ASN