• 1 Post By hypostatic
  • 1 Post By hypostatic
  • 2 Post By Socratic Monologue
  • 1 Post By Kinstrome
  • 1 Post By Kinstrome
  • 1 Post By hypostatic

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-20-2019, 09:43 PM

Default What constitutes "bleach" in the context of disinfecting plants?

This isn't entirely a plant-related question, but I wanted to be sure, as I have some valuable plants coming in that I want to disinfect (even if they probably won't need it).

I'm not an expert on cleaning things (including clothing), but "bleach" has always seemed to me to be a general term for the substance in question, and I had never given any thought to what constitutes it for most of my life.

But because it's made from a concentration of chlorine, I'm not 100% sure that the bleach most vivarists are using when they recommend, say, a 5-10% bleach mix, is the same bleach as I'm using. I'm worried that, say, the bleach I use could be too strong or too weak, and therefore result in either dead or poorly-disinfected plants.

The Clorox I have says it functionally has a 5.7% chlorine concentration, and my gut says that that's probably what everyone here uses, but I want to make sure before a crapload of good plants die mysteriously.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 06-21-2019, 12:24 AM

Default Re: What constitutes "bleach" in the context of disinfecting plants?

NEHERP - Vivarium Plant Processing Procedure

see "Processing Procedure for Non-Sensitive Flora", and "Processing Procedure for Sensitive Flora"
Encyclia likes this.
Old 06-21-2019, 12:30 AM

That is stuff. I prefer a mix that is called "5% bleach" or approximately 0.5% hypochlorite.

So, to use your regular Chlorox in a ratio of 1 part bleach to 12 parts water, stir well.

Solo

Old 06-21-2019, 12:54 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by SoloSK71 View Post
That is stuff. I prefer a mix that is called "5% bleach" or approximately 0.5% hypochlorite.