Go Back   Dendroboard > Vivariums > Parts & Construction
Register Blogs FAQ Calendar Mark Forums Read Advertise

Support Our Sponsors
No Threads to Display.

facebook

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-22-2013, 02:36 PM

Default Water Cooling Method

Good day! I am a current member of another forum that appears to be less active than this. I am currently a 2nd year student (major: Environmental Studies), and have been active in this hobby since I was very young.
As a new member, I intend to offer my thought process to the community, not just ask and forget. I live in a temperate climate (NY) and, unlike most, prefer that kind of reptile/amphibian. I've never been into desert or tropical animals (although if there were ever sand worms like in Tremors, that would be the first tank setup I'd make!)

Many of my ideas on the art are very unique. That mostly means they are outrageously complex and not practical. Nevertheless, I am always trying to find that little detail here or there that is abstractly different than what the community normally goes for when constructing a tank.

I have a 40 Breeder that I can't quite figure out how to properly manage. I had it up and running, but it just wasn't aesthetically pleasing enough, so I tore it apart. Now, I'm coming up with ideas that will hopefully diminish the issues with the old.
Note that this tank is now empty (minus the corkbark flats that I could not pry from the glass, as my silicone caulking job was a little too good). I do not have any animals, and do not want to even think about any until I can get my tank running.

Among many of the old issues is this: My tank's temperature. I don't personally like warm water, and I feel like it acts as a catalyst for organisms that shouldn't be there (such as white worms). That and improper filtration combined have a way of bringing in some nasty things.