Go Back   Dendroboard > Vivariums > Parts & Construction
Register Blogs FAQ Calendar Mark Forums Read Advertise

Support Our Sponsors
No Threads to Display.

facebook

Like Tree32Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-15-2013, 12:37 AM

Default 20 Gallon Long (slow, with pictures and questions)

Finally putting together a vivarium. I probably won't get it finished until this Fall, but I've made some progress so far. And I know I'll have questions along the way, so I figured I'd start sharing.

It's a 20 gallon long, probably destined for a pair or trio of tincs or leucs. But that decision's a ways off.

So far:
- I've got the tank, disinfected, with a false bottom and a layer of weed block (I poke holes in the weed block until water drained through it at a decent rate).
- I've got some driftwood (for the background + foam) and some dead manzanita (to be peat-coated for mock vines) boiled and baked repeatedly.
- I've got a mini water pump for circulating the water.
- I've ordered a DIY LED kit from aquastyle online & will soon get started on building that.

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 04-16-2013, 04:11 PM

Default re: 20 Gallon Long (slow, with pictures and questions)

Some progress...

I coated the manzanita and foam partition in silicone and peat.

I've zip-tied the partition in place, but will still need to foam it a little more to make it more contiguous.

I'm also going to foam in the background and sides

Just got my 14 LED w/ controller kit from aquastyle online.

When I get going on figuring all that out, I'll give a detailed post on it. I'll also be cutting the heatsink in two and building a frame for it, so that it'll span the whole tank. More later. Here's just a couple update photos.

Old 04-21-2013, 08:22 PM

Finished the background.

The next steps:
-vacuum up leftover peat & clean glass
-work on the placement of the manzanita & silicone those in