Small Pump Wiring - Dendroboard
Dendroboard

Go Back   Dendroboard > Vivariums > Parts & Construction
Register Blogs FAQ Calendar Mark Forums Read Advertise

Support Our Sponsors
No Threads to Display.

facebook

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 12-27-2005, 07:38 PM
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Small Pump Wiring

Hi,
A friend gave me a small submersible pump like the ones he uses to make those small lava rock fountains. Problem is, this thing has a cord with a three prong plug that thick enough to run a refrigerator. Do all of these pumps have this heavy duty wiring or or is this just some goofy super duty doody.

Thanks,
Mac
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 12-27-2005, 11:05 PM
Frank H's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: San Diego
Posts: 1,245
Thanks: 43
Thanked 20 Times in 19 Posts
Default

I have 2 pumps 40ghp that have a standard wire 2 prong plug.

I also have a 40gph pump that has a huge 3 prong plug.

Just depends on the maker I guess.

Id say that all 3 pumps work the same. no big difference, but Id rather have the smaller wire to fit through the top.

Maybe one day the frogs will thank heavens above for that third (ground) prong.

-Frank
__________________
Patience is key to a fine frogging experience

www.socal-rc.com
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 12-28-2005, 06:59 AM
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

They make those socket adaptors for three prong to two prong that you could use.
And This brings up something I have not seen on this board. I use a ground fault circuit interrupter receptacle for the pumps in my viv. and fish tank.
I also have a grounding probe in my viv that I used to used for my reef tank. I think that any time you mix electricity with water, your taking a chance on some current escaping. :shock:
Might be overkill, but makes me feel better.
Reply With Quote
 
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 12-28-2005, 12:19 PM
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rad3Dad
They make those socket adaptors for three prong to two prong that you could use.
And This brings up something I have not seen on this board. I use a ground fault circuit interrupter receptacle for the pumps in my viv. and fish tank.
I also have a grounding probe in my viv that I used to used for my reef tank. I think that any time you mix electricity with water, your taking a chance on some current escaping. :shock:
Might be overkill, but makes me feel better.
OK... thanks. I'm not so worried about the prongs as I am with the thickness of the cord. It's not very flexable and I'll have to use a tree trunk to hide it!

Mac
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 12-28-2005, 08:32 PM
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default My Experience

People that manufacture things (like pumps) tend to use the cheapest components they can to maximize profits. Heavier gauge cord is more expensive cord. If the pump you have uses thick cord, you can bet it needs thick cord. If you were to replace the cord with a lighter gauge, you can bet that the cord would heat up and potentially be a fire hazzard. I also have some pumps with heavy cords. You just have to live with it IMO.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 12-29-2005, 04:35 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: York, PA
Posts: 6,734
Thanks: 0
Thanked 4 Times in 3 Posts
Default

Mac, look on the lable on the pump (if there is one) and find what the electrical requirements are. Look for a number around 1-2 amps (A), or 200-2000 miliamps (mA). Also, look on the wire for some writing. It will usually be indented into the plastic casing. Look for a number in the teens (16, 14, 12, 10) followed by AWG. Post that too. This will give specific technical information to decide if it is safe to put a smaller cord on the pump.

There is one huge concern though. Pumps are potted (incased in plastic) so that no electrical hazard exists. If you cut the cord and replace it you absolutely must make a water tight seal. Something like totally coating the cut with polyurethane or possibly silicone if it will adhear will work.



Never pay again for live sex! | Hot girls doing naughty stuff for free! | Chat for free!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 12-29-2005, 12:14 PM
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

No worries. I'm not going to mess with the wiring. I was just hoping that in the future I could find a pump with a cord that was more flexible and easier to hide. I finally cut a piece of 1-1/4 PVC in half to cover it and I'm going to make that look as natural as I can.

Mac
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Need small predacious fish for small tank - suggestions? skronkykong The Lounge 11 02-27-2012 08:22 PM
Wiring and Electrical Help dopederson Parts & Construction 10 07-21-2008 10:12 PM
Wiring a CPU fan? melas Parts & Construction 24 12-12-2007 01:54 AM
Fan Wiring Question Corpus Callosum Parts & Construction 10 07-13-2007 03:35 AM
Need help with LED wiring Darks!de Parts & Construction 23 06-09-2006 02:21 PM

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT. The time now is 09:13 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.