5 Gallon Palu Build - Dendroboard
Dendroboard

Go Back   Dendroboard > Vivariums > Parts & Construction
Register Blogs FAQ Calendar Advertise

Support Our Sponsors
No Threads to Display.

facebook

View Poll Results: which animal would work best in a 5 gallon paludarium?
firebellied newt 4 12.90%
fire bellied toad 7 22.58%
guppies 12 38.71%
nada! too small dum dum! 8 25.81%
Voters: 31. You may not vote on this poll

Like Tree2Likes
  • 2 Post By juliana maria

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-09-2012, 05:14 AM

Default 5 Gallon Palu Build

Hi everyone!

This is my first attempt at a paludarium, and I gotta admit, I'm pretty excited! I had an empty five gallon tank sitting in my closest collecting dust so I figured it would be a good way to practice different building techniques for a larger tank in the future. I've been working on it for a few days now, so here's some pics of my progress

pic1 - I picked up some cork bark from my lfs to serve as the water feature and give the palu a more natural feel.

pic 2 - messing with carving the styrofoam and messing with a scape

pic 3 - filled in the the blocks of syrofoam with some GreatStuff, the carved it to look more rock like

pic 4 - coated it with two coats of sandy motar, let it dry, then did started the fun part....painting!!!

pic 5 - makin it look nice and mossy

pic 6 - side view

pic 7 - colored the inset black. I plan on growing a wee bit of moss in that area so I figured being fancy with the coloring wasn't essential

pic 9 (skipped 8 :P) - paint job done!

pic 10 - finished side

pic 11 - I have deducted that this is the worst way to seal a background. Next time I'm just gonna use quick crete and cure the darn thing, lol

That's it for pictures right now. Some of the paint chipped a bit when I was applying the silicon. Anyone have any tips for preventing this in the future? Luckily the chips are minimal and can be easily covered with coconut fiber.
Attached Images