Support Our Sponsors
No Threads to Display.

facebook

Like Tree1Likes
  • 1 Post By DracheFrau

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-30-2012, 11:04 PM

Question Aquarium conversion ideas/help

Hi everybody! I'm new to the hobby and vivarium building. My first viv will be an Exo Terra, but this post isn't about that.

I have had an aquarium for quite some time just sitting around, waiting to be housed. Eventually I would like to change it into a viv. Either horizontal or vertical is to be decided. But I have a bit of an issue with it. The lid part is awkward.

It used to have a sliding screen on top of it. However, before I moved out, my mum's fat cat used it as a bed, and broke the screen. F me right? So I threw out the screen. This was before I knew I was gonna be obsessed with darts.

So, what do I do? Any suggestions? Maybe find some funky L shaped glass to slide in there? Or build some kind of door on it? I attached pictures of it. 10x20x12 is it's measurements. Thanks in advance!
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Front.jpg (87.6 KB, 12 views)
File Type: jpg Side.jpg (86.2 KB, 14 views)
File Type: jpg Top.jpg (94.0 KB, 13 views)
File Type: jpg Top slide.jpg (82.6 KB, 16 views)
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 05-30-2012, 11:26 PM

Default Re: Aquarium conversion ideas/help

honestly a lot of chains sell 10 gallon aquariums for $10 to $15 bucks... I have two of those now, $12 each. That might be cheaper than finding a custom piece of glass to fit... just throwing that out there... using what you have is cool, but sometimes replacing is cheaper and easier...

Im sure you could make some kind of custom screen for that side though and then a glass top, use it as a vent
The Following User Says Thank You to Ozydego For This Useful Post:
DracheFrau (05-30-2012)
Old 05-30-2012, 11:32 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ozydego View Post