Support Our Sponsors
No Threads to Display.

facebook

Like Tree2Likes
  • 2 Post By Nate Mcfin

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-29-2011, 03:06 AM

Default Nates 40 Breeder Vert

Well, I am finally ready to begin my viv. I am new to frogs, but have a background in planted aquariums. I have been researching for the build for quite some time now and its time to get this thing going!
Pardon if the thread is pic heavy. As a noob, I have really enjoyed and learned from the pic heavy threads. If I get too carried away feel free to let me know. lol

The plan- 40 Breeder vert
Light- LED from Aaron Acker
Vert Kit - from Aaron as well ( I would have built my own if I had done more
research first.
In tank air circulation.- variation of Grimms. (isn't everything???
Mist King- purchased used from a planted tank forum I frequent.
I do have a humidifier to build a fogger, though I am not sure I will use it.

Inhabitants - unknown at this time. I am leaning toward thumbnails ( I know they are not beginner frogs but I tend to OVER research) I also don't just jump into anything blindly. I will be asking questions regarding the inhabitants as I go along here.

I will start with the stand- I built the stand for a 20 gallon cube aquarium I had. I actually built two (one for a 40 breeder planted aquarium as well) The dimensions are perfect for my 40 vert. It is way over built a vert, but I feel good knowing it can hold the weight.

Here they are during construction.

I skinned the sides with bead board.

after I took the fish tank down I recoated with paint and its all ready for a viv!

So last week I started the false bottom which I made from eggcrate.

I zip tied the eggcrate together.

I the covered the false bottom with fiberglass window screen. I used zip ties on it as well.

Nice tight fit installed!

Next up- the in tank air circulation!
Thanks for looking,
Nate
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 11-29-2011, 03:07 AM

Default Re: Nates 40 Breeder Vert