Go Back   Dendroboard > Vivariums > Parts & Construction
Register Blogs FAQ Calendar Mark Forums Read Advertise

Support Our Sponsors
No Threads to Display.

facebook

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-29-2011, 09:11 AM

Unhappy Need ideas for 20gal long paludarium/vivarium

Hi I'm new to this and am having trouble deciding on how I should set up my 20gal long aquarium. I would like to include a water feature with my internal filter, live plants and am also having trouble deciding whether I should completely seperate the land from the h2o with plexiglass or do a false bottom under it. I am worried that the false bottom will just make the tank get dirty faster, even with a substrate divider. I would like ideas of cheap/almost free ways to get the effect desired. My husband works at lowes and I'm planning on getting many of the needed pieces from his scraps. If I do completely seperate the land from H2O do I need a teralite/lava rock/gravel bottom layer for drainage? And I would also like to know if silicone and great stuff are easily removed from a tank (without scratching) for 10-15yrs down the road. Any and all ideas, designs, and out right step by steps will be very much appreciated. -- by the by, the reason for cheapness is that I have been out of work since Feb --

PLEASE HELP
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 06-29-2011, 10:48 PM

Default Re: Need ideas for 20gal long paludarium/vivarium

Hi again,Well I found tons of Plexiglas PVC, and styrofoam around the house. So im still trying to figure out the design.
Old 06-29-2011, 11:37 PM

A 20g long doesn't give you much height to work with, especially if it has a water feature.

Old 06-30-2011, 12:26 AM

I'm actually just going to start out small for a couple of FBTs that dont actually like to climb much, I live in Texas so its hotter than normal in my house so I need plants that will tolerate this. Any ideas on the basic setup would be helpful.
Old 06-30-2011, 12:44 AM