Go Back   Dendroboard > Vivariums > Parts & Construction
Register Blogs FAQ Calendar Mark Forums Read Advertise

Support Our Sponsors
No Threads to Display.

facebook

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-07-2010, 06:48 AM

Default Viv projects begin!!

So I previously posted this in the beginner forum, but thanks to the helpful people here on dendroboard I've got some knowledge and think it's time to get started on these!

So here's what I've gathered so far..

I still need a few things to really get started, but I've began to work on the false bottoms tonight. Tomorrow I should have 3 done. After that happens, I plan on going driftwood hunting in hopes of finding some nice pieces and maybe saving some money.

This has probably been asked before, but if I find moss in the woods can it be used in the viv? I know a few companies sell "woodland moss" so I'm assuming I could use what I found? Trout season is close in Pennsylvania, so that means trips to the mountains full of moss will shortly be arriving.
If anyone has any info on this please let me know!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 04-07-2010, 07:49 AM
TWI/ASN

Default Re: Viv projects begin!!

Couple of comments.

First, just to make sure you know, that Exo Terra "Coco Husk" isn't going to be the fine-grained coco fiber, but they're going to be large bark chunks. It's still okay to use, but I avoid it because I prefer the look of fine-graind coco fiber on my hardscaping.

It looks like at least most of your plants (I don't know because I haven't worked with them all) will thrive in the vivs, but you should look at getting some broad leafed plants as well. Broad leafed philodendron, upward growing pepperomia and pothos would be a good start.