Dendroboard

Go Back   Dendroboard
Register Blogs FAQ Calendar Mark Forums Read Advertise

Support Our Sponsors
No Threads to Display.

facebook

Dendroboard

Dendroboard (https://www.dendroboard.com/forum/)
-   Parts & Construction (https://www.dendroboard.com/forum/parts-construction/)
-   -   Trouble Deciding: 135g viv v. Rack (https://www.dendroboard.com/forum/parts-construction/47610-trouble-deciding-135g-viv-v-rack.html)

happy dart 11-28-2009 02:58 PM

Trouble Deciding: 135g viv v. Rack

Hi everyone!

I'm trying to decide between keeping my 135 gallon aquarium or selling it and using the space to create a dart frog rack.

I am a complete beginner to dart frogs. I was thinking about keeping a single D. leucomelas in a 10 gallon I have in my bedroom. Once I gain experience with that, I would transfer it over to the 135 gallon vivarium that I would have already set-up and allowed to stabilize for a week at least. Every time I could afford another D. leucomelas, I would add it to the tank. My goal is to eventually reach group of 8-12 frogs, though I probably will never be able to afford that many. I figure since the tank is big enough with enough visual barriers, there shouldn't be too much territorial disputes whenever I add a new frog.

Or, I could just sell the whole thing and get a big rack system (the current tank, hood, and stand takes up a 6'x6' section of wall right now). Its been said many times before that beginners should not attempt large vivariums. Maybe I shouldn't push my luck and stick with the norm...

Your help would be greatly appreciated!

son of a addict 11-28-2009 03:32 PM

Re: Trouble Deciding: 135g viv v. Rack

I would sell the 135,a rack means more tanks more tanks mean more speices. Then again I've become addicted as do most people who enter the hobby

Geckoguy 11-28-2009 03:43 PM

I picked rack but wheres the option for both thats what Id really do.

happy dart 11-29-2009 12:08 AM

Thanks for the input guys!