Go Back   Dendroboard > Vivariums > Parts & Construction
Register Blogs FAQ Calendar Mark Forums Read Advertise

Support Our Sponsors
No Threads to Display.

facebook

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-22-2009, 05:05 PM

Default 40 Gallon Breeder Build Questions

Beginner here (Have only attempted one other tank)

I am going to start a build on a 40 gallon breeder soon, but I have questions.
I want to make a waterfall in the back corner of the tank that falls into a river that drains into a pond. For the false egg crate bottom, do I make it the entire bottom of the tank? Most people seem to make it only a portion of the bottom of their tank.

For the river, I was thinking of using half a PVC pipe, should I add rocks ontop of the PVC? Is there a compaction risk for the frogs with that (I have Kassina Maculata).

For the pond, What are those little clover-like things everyone has floating in their ponds and what are their function?

I saw a thread here were someone made a rain chamber right in the tank. Are there pros and cons of that? Do frogs benefit from the rain even if they aren't breeding? Would it cause frustration if there were two males (the female is not ready to be in the male tank yet).

For the background, last time I did the Great Stuff with silicone and coco fiber, but after 6 months the silicone still smelled so I ripped it out of the tank. I was thinking of using bark (cleaned, of course) for the background, using silicone to attach it to the backwall (I think the silicone and the foam was the reason for it still smelling. Silicone may have gotten into the air pockets of the foam and been prevented from drying).
What are the best options for a background?

Thanks in advanced for any answers and I am sure I will have more questions
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 06-22-2009, 05:19 PM
TWI/ASN

Default Re: 40 Gallon Breeder Build Questions

These links might be of some help.

http://www.dendroboard.com/forum/mem...-vivarium.html