Like Tree10Likes
  • 5 Post By Organics
  • 1 Post By Organics
  • 1 Post By Broseph
  • 2 Post By Louis
  • 1 Post By Apoplast

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-19-2020, 10:08 PM

Default DIY high powered LED(no soldering)

Disclaimer I am not an electrician, working with electricity can result in harm, death and fire.

My goal with this post is to coalesce information that seemed to be missing from DIY builds I saw and honestly just made this process a lot more difficult than it needed to be, part of that was due to there being a large amount of assumed information from people who already had some background in electronics. Disclaimer I knew nothing of electronics before starting this project so hopefully that値l be encouraging to those who find themselves in the same shoes. I知 going to assume you understand nothing about electronics in an attempt to make this accessible to as many people as possible.

Planning
覧覧覧覧覧覧覧覧覧覧覧覧覧覧覧覧覧覧覧
First you need to determine your lighting requirements for your enclosure.

1.Plant requirements
*I have zero studies to back this guideline, it痴 quoted from another member here and was the only reference I could find as a jumping off point. This along with a lumen to par calculator(again not all that reliable of a method) ended up giving results that corresponded nicely with this guideline but hey could致e always been beginners luck.*
⁃Low light plants - 15-35 par
Medium light plants - 35-60 par
High light plants - 60+ par
Color up bromeliads - 150 par
2.Spread
⁃The larger the LED the less you will need to cover an area(generally).
⁃Other factors that affect spread include emission angle, wether or not you use a lens and height of the light off the enclosure.
⁃There are definitely some interesting lighting effects you could achieve in larger enclosures, such as having a single large LED giving less coverage but creates a more dramatic tapering off of light at the edges.
3.Depth