Hygrometer error? - Dendroboard
Dendroboard

Go Back   Dendroboard > Vivariums > Parts & Construction
Register Blogs FAQ Calendar Mark Forums Read Advertise

Support Our Sponsors
No Threads to Display.

facebook

Like Tree2Likes
  • 1 Post By Socratic Monologue
  • 1 Post By Socratic Monologue

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 03-14-2019, 06:58 PM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Posts: 12
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Hygrometer error?

Hi all, just got an exo terra digital hygrometer. It's new, never been used, but I'm wondering if the readings are right? I've been using it in an empty aquarium that's quarantine for the plants, and it regularly reads 99% humidity. The plants are in pots, and the plants are misted/watered about once a week. There's a glass top that covers the top with no gaps, so I guess it makes sense that it's that high (I've also tested it outside of the tank/opened the top and the hygrometer seems to accurately measure humidity). I'm just curious if this is normal? Otherwise I'm curious why people have to mist so often to keep the humidity in a completely set up vivarium. Thanks!
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 03-14-2019, 07:18 PM
Socratic Monologue's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: Central WI
Posts: 1,193
Thanks: 51
Thanked 145 Times in 139 Posts
Default Re: Hygrometer error?

Quote:
Originally Posted by cichlidkid View Post
Otherwise I'm curious why people have to mist so often to keep the humidity in a completely set up vivarium. Thanks!
Because vivs are not sealed up tight. Most (almost all) plants and animals need ventilation. If a viv is maintaining humidity for more than a day, it likely needs more air exchange with the outside world.
varanoid likes this.
__________________
I think I could turn and live with animals, they are so placid and self-contain'd.

- Whitman
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 03-14-2019, 07:26 PM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Posts: 12
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Re: Hygrometer error?

Thanks for the reply! I have holes drilled in the back part of the lid, but I guess that's not enough.
Reply With Quote
 
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 03-14-2019, 08:29 PM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Posts: 19
Thanks: 2
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default Re: Hygrometer error?

Yeah those things generally don't work well. I would agree that you probably need more air flow, and also that the reading is incorrect. Mine goes back and forth between 99% and 0%, with nothing in between. I just eyeball it to make sure it looks humid but not sopping wet.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 03-14-2019, 09:14 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 118
Thanks: 5
Thanked 10 Times in 8 Posts
Default Re: Hygrometer error?

The spring based hygrometers aren't great, but they get a bad rap because many people don't realize they periodically need calibrated. Look up how to do a salt-slurry calibration and you can be more confident in the readings.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 03-15-2019, 12:17 AM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Posts: 12
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Re: Hygrometer error?

Thanks for your input! How would you suggest increasing ventilation? Just drill more holes?
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 03-15-2019, 12:33 AM
Socratic Monologue's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: Central WI
Posts: 1,193
Thanks: 51
Thanked 145 Times in 139 Posts
Default Re: Hygrometer error?

Quote:
Originally Posted by cichlidkid View Post
Thanks for your input! How would you suggest increasing ventilation? Just drill more holes?
That's well worth a search here. Search 'ventilation' or 'venting fish tank' or '29 gallon ventilation' using the search bar above (or use google and search "(search terms) site:www.dendroboard.com").

There's lots of ways to skin that cat, and the more of them you know, the better off you'll be.
Pugwinkleca likes this.
__________________
I think I could turn and live with animals, they are so placid and self-contain'd.

- Whitman
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
hygrometer

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
To trust or not to trust the trusty hygrometer? Markw General Discussion 11 07-16-2011 06:56 AM
Hygrometer issues.....arggggh MountaineerLegion Parts & Construction 11 02-04-2011 06:45 AM
General Error rozdaboff Dendroboard.com Feedback, Help Desk & Questions 8 04-30-2008 12:01 AM
Error Message Bocomo Dendroboard.com Feedback, Help Desk & Questions 8 01-18-2008 03:58 PM
Digital Hygrometer Question superjalami30 Parts & Construction 14 05-22-2007 01:10 PM

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT. The time now is 10:56 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.