• 2 Post By Johanovich
  • 3 Post By Tijl
  • 1 Post By Johanovich
  • 2 Post By Johanovich
  • 1 Post By Eruantien
  • 2 Post By Johanovich

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-19-2019, 04:43 PM

Default Afrixalus Dorsalis (a story about an illegal imigrant)

Hello,

today I wanted to share a story of an "unknown" frog that was given to me on februari 16 2019. Again, I will try to write this in my best English.
Here we go :

Februari the 16'th I got a message from a friend's father that said a friend of his ( who is a florist) found a frog in one of his flowers he just bought at a wholesale for his store. He send me these pictures :

He asked me if I was able to take care of this frog, cause he knew I have been keeping PDF's for almost 10 years now. So he brought over the frog and now I got a unknow frog in my collection. What species was this frog? Where did it come from? Is it healthy? ....? All these and more questions came to mind.

The first thing I did, was placing the frog in a plastic container with some wet paper towels and a small plantcutting with big leaves and some small sized cricets. I made a well educated guess this frog was either a tree- or reed frog... I guess you (the reader) also figured this out.

I also imedialty posted a topic on the dutch a belgian frog fora with the pictures I got and the question if someone knew what frog thos was and if annyone knew of a similar story or has experienced or read about this before.
First I got allot of guessing, most of us guessed it was a Dendropsophus sp.
Later Remco Stuster came up with the name Afrixalus. He knew there was a difference between the eyes of Afrixalus sp. and Dendrosophus sp. and this would be the best indication of what species the frog would be.

Afrixalus sp. :

Dendrosophus sp. :

Conclusion : Afrixalus!

I imedialty begin to search on google. Not allot of time passed and I came across these websites :

https://nimo.fr/forums/570788-afrixalus-dorsalis/