No Threads to Display.

facebook

Like Tree1Likes
  • 1 Post By BigBlu

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-24-2019, 01:33 PM

Exclamation Man with a Mission

Hello everyone,

First I want to preface I'm glad to finally join the community- I'm new to the hobby insofar as I've only recently taken the plunge into actually gathering supplies and getting frogs, but I've been lurking the Dendroboard for years now, trying to sponge up as much information as possible, slowly preparing.

Having said that, what had previously been a slow, carefully deliberated series of steps towards actualizing my own dart frog vivarium took several large leaps and now I find myself in the deep end.

I attended a local reptile expo this weekend, just looking to gather some cool corkbark and other landscaping supplies so I could begin making my tank.

That's when I stumbled across a pair of Azureus Tinctorious for sale; a sexed male/female pair. The female looked skinny- way too skinny.

Talking with the dealer revealed she had taken them away from a previous clueless owner who had put 6 females and 2 male tincs all in one enclosure. This male/female pair had been bullied mercilessly by the rest of the tribe and would have starved to death if she hadn't intervened.

After years of learning and practicing and making lists, checking them over, gathering supplies, these were the first two dart frogs I had ever seen for sale; and what had happened to them absolutely broke my heart.

I couldn't leave their fates to chance; seeing random children and clueless couples inquiring about the pair, I couldn't let some other impulse buyer take them and almost certainly kill them. I bought them from the dealer, came home and immediately began scrambling about town to get the supplies needed to make a quarantine tank for them.