No Threads to Display.

facebook

Like Tree1Likes
  • 1 Post By indrap

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-29-2019, 11:20 PM

Talking Newbie to the Hobby

Hello Everyone!

I am a newbie to the hobby--I just started out last month with a pair of D. auratus. Of course, PDFs are like potato chips, so I bought a pair of D. tinctorius azureus and a pair of red galacts last week too (all in separate vivariums, of course). I have been interested in obtaining a pair or trio of pumilios, but I have heard that their call is very loud. Are there any other red morphs out there that are at least somewhat quiet? I am feeding the melanogaster and hydei fruit flies, supplemented with Repashy Calcium Plus, with a little extra paprika for color, plus springtails and isopods. Is there anything else I should be feeding to color up my red galacts?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 06-30-2019, 12:45 AM

Default Re: Newbie to the Hobby

There are a number of Ranitomeya that have nice reds (stripes, heads).

Repashy Calcium Plus already contains a good amount of Superpig, so I'd be careful not to go overboard on dusting with too much that actually leaves less room on the FFs for stuff that benefits the frogs rather than your eyes. I don't keep any Adelphobates, though, so maybe folks in that corner of the hobby have different ideas.

If I got three new groups of frogs in the last month, I'd slow down and enjoy them, and figure out what it is about frogs that attracts you so that you know what to look for in your next acquisition. Color is likely one of the least interesting things about dart frogs, as far as I can tell.

Oh, and -- Welcome to DB!

Whitman
Old 06-30-2019, 02:29 AM